Spread the word » Facebook Twitter

Come Celebrate!

The 2014 Regional Transit Awards

Get Your Tickets Today!

Award Ceremony:

Thursday, May 8, 6pm

at Detroit's historic Hotel St. Regis.

Tickets also include dinner, reception, silent auction, and a donation to TRU. 

Dear Supporter,

I am excited to introduce to you the nominees for TRU's 2014 Regional Transit Awards!

Transit progress occurs through the creativity and hard work of often unknown individuals. TRU’s Regional Transit Awards recognizes these 24 transit champs for their essential contributions to regional tranist.

All nominees will be recognized and one winner in each category will be awarded at the 2014 Regional Transit Awards dinner on May 8. Join the celebration!

And the nominees are . . .

For the Exemplary Innovation Award

  • Michael Ford, CEO of AAATA

  • myride2, managed by Roberta Habowski of the Area Agency on Aging 1b

  • Sit On It Detroit, created by Kyle Bartell and Charles Molnar

  • Two Women, Four Wheels, run by Melissa Damaschke and Julie Funke

For the Forward Motion Award for Most Effective Public Servant

  • Elizabeth Gerber, RTA Board

  • Michigan State Senator Bert Johnson

  • Dearborn Mayor John B. O'Reilly, Jr

  • Roy Rose, RTA's Finance and Budget Chair

For the Corporate Transit Champion Award        

  • Detroit Bus Company, led by Andy Didorosi

  • Lakeside Divisions, Inc., CEO Susan Williams

  • Sommer Woods, External Affairs Manager of M1-Rail

  • Megabus.com

For Transit Employee of the Year

  • Allen Lusk, SMART driver and trainer

  • Boo'yah Strickler, DDOT driver

  • Michael Benham, The Ride (AAATA)

  • David Glenn, DDOT driver

For the Under 30 - Breakthrough Transit Champion Award          

  • Carsten Applegate, DDOT transportation planner

  • Hayley Roberts, Michigan Suburbs Alliance         

  • Joel Batterman, MOSES               

  • Jean-Luc Grosjean  

For the Unsung Hero Award      

  • Tiffany Gunter, formerly at SEMCOG

  • Leo Hanifin, University of Detroit Mercy Transportation Center

  • Larry Krieg, AAATA boardmember, Wake Up Washtenaw founder

  • Cindy Reese, Transportation Co-Chair at MOSES

Please join us at the Regional Transit Awards dinner Thursday May 8 to celebrate these wonderful people and toast their contributions to improving transit!

And stay tuned - over the coming weeks, I'll provide more information about these amazing people. 



PS - You are subscribed to Transportation Riders United's email list. TRU is Detroit's nonprofit transit advocate, working since 1999 to improve bus service, remove barriers to rapid transit, and advocate for smart transportation investments.

If this was forwarded from a friend, you can join our email list and receive these updates directly every week or two.


Transportation Riders United, 500 Griswold, Suite 1650, Detroit, Michigan 48226
(313) 963-8872 | Fax: (313) 963-8876

Copyright 2013 Transportation Riders United, Inc. | Click here to unsubscribe